COPYCAT Cracker Barrel Hashbrown Casserole

I love to travel and one of the joys of highway traveling used to be getting off the exit and checking out restaurants that you couldn’t get at home.

food exit

Now  that chains have crossed regional divides, these places are no longer so unique.

Cracker Barrel used to be a place I could only go when I traveled south.  I loved getting their veggie plate where I could pick 4 veggie sides, which always included the hashbrown casserole!

I found a copycat recipe for the casserole, but I altered it a bit.  I replaced the cream of chicken soup with a low-sodium vegetarian friendly cream of mushroom soup.  I replaced the sour cream with greek yogurt, used shallots instead of an onion (because that is what I had) and I omitted the 1/2 tsp salt.

IMG_2216

While it didn’t taste exactly like Cracker Barrel’s, it did satisfy the craving I had for it and I didn’t have to take a road trip!

http://funhomethings.com/2015/01/copycat-cracker-barrel-hashbrown_27.html

Leave a Reply

