Final “F” dish….

One of my favorite dishes growing up was Chicken Fried Steak. Everytime our family went to the local Denny’s restaurant, that was my go-to dish. Ask my husband, once I like a dish, I don’t stray from it. For this being my favorite childhood dish, I cannot say I have every attempted to make it before. The past 2 weeks here in Pittsburgh, have been brutal. Record lows, snow, freezing rain, no sun. Longing for some comfort, I figured what better time to make some chicken fried steak.

cfs1

I started with 4 cubed steaks and marinated in mixture of fat-free buttermilk and splash of hot sauce for one hour. Then dredged in mix of flour, corn starch,  panko bread crumbs and pinch of Cayenne Pepper. Sautéed in large skillet in 2T of olive oil 4-5 minutes per side, until golden brown.  Removed the steaks and put in the oven, preheated to 250 to keep warm while making the gravy.  For gravy, leave all the bits and pieces in the skillet and add 1T flour. Stir and cook for one minute then add 1 small diced onion. Add 2 cups of skim milk and cook until reduced by half and sauce thickens to coat back of spoon. Season with salt and pepper to taste. I served with roasted red potatoes and French Baguette slices…

Must say…. FAR better than I remembered as a child

cfs2

Leave a Reply

