Beef n Broccoli, Not an “F” but fantastic deish nonetheless

beefbroc1

Been on a Chinese takeout mood lately and although I typically order chicken or shrimp dishes… I decided to switch things up and make a beef dish. I started with a small pot roast. Most dishes call for flank steak or similar, but it what I had so I used it. After marinating for 2 hours in combination soy sauce and EVOO, mixed with corn starch, baking soda and sugar, the beef was ready to go. I sautéed a head of broccoli florets for 4-5 minutes in a little EVOO. After removing the broccoli from the skillet, I returned the skillet to medium heat and added 2t of EVOO then added the marinated meat. Allowing to cook for 4-5 minutes per side, I made the sauce. Mixing soy sauce, brown sugar, garlic and flour in a small bowl. Add the broccoli back to the skillet and coat in the sauce for another minute or two to heat. I served with homemade ‘fried’ rice. (made with leftover rice, 3 eggs (scrambled), onions, zucchini and green pepper with Soy sauce).

beefbroc2

beefbric3

Marinade:

1/2 t baking soda

1t sugar

2T Corn Starch

2T soy sauce

2T EVOO

Sauce:

1/2 cup soy sauce

3T brown sugar

2T minced garlic

2T flour

ENJOY!

Leave a Reply

