‘Fried’ Rice with Shrimp

20150202_185003

Challenge 2 for Twentytwolose is meals made with “F” foods… Fried rice… well I know Fried is an adjective but my sister introduced me to fried rice made with Cauliflower and I wanted to try it. I will make an extra F dish to cover my challenge.

So yes…Fried rice, sub cauliflower. Delish. Don’t miss the rice, same great flavor..no carbs! Trust me this carb lover was Very VERY skeptical.  The only thing I would change, and my sister and I discussed this as well… I like my fried rice..Fried.. crispy.. hard and crunchy… making it with the cauliflower- I should have sautéed it a little longer. Next time I will.

So here goes the recipe:

1 head cauliflower, minced in food processor

2 cups sliced mushrooms

1/2 chopped onion

1 cup frozen carrot and pea mixture

1 cup shelled edamame

1/2 sticK butter

2 scrambled egg

1/2 c soy sauce

1lb cooked shrimp

Saute mushrooms and onions In butter until soft. Push mixture to one side of pan and add 2 eggs to empty side and scramble. Once eggs cooked mix together with mushrooms and onions, add frozen veggies, edamame, and cauliflower. Saute 4-5 minutes until veggies are heated through. Add soy sauce and cooked shrimp and cook another 3-4 minutes until heated through or til your desire of crunchiness.

Hope you enjoy this mock fried rice.

 

Leave a Reply

