Soup Challenge #2 Chorizo Tortellini Soup

Chorizo Tortellini SoupEnjoying my lazy Sunday, lounging on the couch with my bulldogs, I decided that I better get moving on this challenge. While grocery shopping yesterday I picked up some Mexican Chorizo that was on sale. Not necessarily intended for anything in particular, so why not make a soup with it. I started with cooking the full links of chorizo in the bottom of a stockpot with a Lil EVOO.  Adding a diced small onion and a heaping tablespoon of minced garlic.  Once the onions had cooked and I flipped the chorizo to brown all sides, I added 1 can of diced tomatoes, a box of chicken stock, parsley and oregano. After 15 minutes of simmering, I removed the links of chorizo and cut them up, returning to them to the pot.  Tossing in a container of cheese tortellini and a 1/2 brick of cream cheese, to thicken and cream the stock. While allowing the soup to simmer for 15 minutes, melting the cheese and cooking though the tortellini, I made some garlic bread from a leftover baguette. I must say it was pretty tasty.. having just a slight bite due to the chorizo. This might actually be a time I take leftovers for lunch tomorrow. Here  is my recipe:

1 pkg frozen cheese tortellini

3 Chorizo links

1 can diced tomatoes

1 box of chicken stock

1 small onion

1 T minced garlic

1 T oregano

1 T parsley

1/2 brick cream cheese

Enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

